On 16th December, 2016, the Kenya and Tanzania Ministers of Foreign Affairs Ambassadors Dr. Amina Mohamed and Dr. Augustine Mahiga signed the agreed minutes of the Third Session Meeting of the Joint Commission for Cooperation between Kenya and Tanzania.

During the Third Session Meeting, Kenya and Tanzania explored new areas of cooperation in the broad clusters of socio-economic and political affairs.  The neighbouring countries agreed to establish a mid-term review mechanism at the Principal/Permanent Secretaries level to monitor and evaluate implementation of the agreed areas.

At the signing ceremony which was held at the Julius Nyerere International Convention Centre, both Ministers reflected upon the long standing bilateral relations between Kenya and Tanzania, dating back to independence and to H.E President Julius Nyerere and H.E Jomo Kenyatta’s commitment to regional cooperation and development.

Tanzania’s Minister of Foreign Affairs Amb. Dr. Augustine Mahiga who is also the Chairperson of the East Africa Council of Ministers reaffirmed Tanzania’s and East Africa’s commitment to Kenya’s African Union Commission Chairperson candidacy. He was emphatic that Amb. Dr. Amina Mohamed was the candidate best suited for the position. He added that Dr. Amina Mohamed’s diplomatic finesse and transformative leadership was critical to delivering consensus and generating agreement around issues of interest and impact to Africa.